Write about a recurring dream you have

Write about a recurring dream you have.

This is the first time i have ever used the Daily Post for inspiration. This topic jumped out at me as being something I could write a little post on!

This is a recurring dream i experienced when i was younger – up until about the age of maybe 16/17. I have a big fear of drowning – as a child i was rubbish at swimming and was never one of those typical “water babies” so the thought of falling into the water, my ears and eyes going in the water or my head being submerged was just horrific. – I managed to struggle through my primary school swimming lessons to pass my Challenge One swimming certificate in Year 6 (i was about 10 or 11) – and to complete it, i had to jump in to the deep end of the big pool 😦 a complete nightmare and a half!

I stood on the side of the pool for about 2 minutes, which felt like forever with my teacher standing on the side telling me i could do it – one jump and i’d pass. I remember looking at the water and trying to do it but felt like my toes were glued to the floor, i then plucked up the courage and stepped off the side, the next 20 seconds i don’t really remember, the only thing i do remember was my teacher, Mrs Vickers, grabbing me out of the pool and kissing my head and saying “Well done! i knew you could do it!” I knew from that day on – i NEVER wanted to EVER have to do that again! Dropping into deep water and submerging myself was such a suffocating and trapping feeling, with the falling aspect too. Still gives me the willies to think about it!

The recurring dream – or nightmare whichever you wish to call it was centered around both those things! The actual sequence of events in the dream that i remember are minute but still they are the bits i remember and obviosuly something that was stuck in my subcontious mind from the day of that swimming test. The dream involves Me, standing on the edge of a high cliff edge – or similar high drop, i lose my footing and fall – my body then goes through the gut-wrenching feeling of falling in a dream ( i’m sure that most of you know that feeling!), Then instead of hitting the ground i fall down deep into Water and get submerged, my ears fill up with water and block up, you get that sense of not being able to hear properly…. and then i wake up!

Any dream people out there that can decipher why i had this dream for years i’d gladly want to know what it meant! Also like to thank my brain for not putting me through that dream lately. I’m still sitting here now slightly on edge and feeling sick from talking about it! Obviously still affects me in some way…..

Leave a comment